Nursing Home Quality Star Ratings, Nationally and by State

Written by Jessica Adkins

May 22, 2015

About 1.3 million people receive care each day in over 15,500 nursing homes that are certified by either Medicaid or Medicare (sometimes, both). The federal government requires nursing homes meet minimum standards as a condition of the payment negotiation. Over the years, serious concerns have been raised about the quality of care and the adequacy of oversight and enforcement. Nursing Home provisions in the Omnibus Budget Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA 87) were enacted to help address these concerns.

In 2008, CMS (Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services) launched the Five-Star Quality Rating System on the Nursing Home Compare website. CMS recently modified the methodology of these ratings, began posting more information about nursing home deficiencies from state health inspections, and is planning future steps to increase the star ratings’ reliability, as required by provisions in the ACA (Affordable Care Act) and the IMPACT (Improving Medicare Post-Acute Care Transformation Act).

Kaiser Family Foundation, issued a brief on May 14th, 2015 — presenting national and state level analysis’ of nursing homes quality scares based on these five-start ratings. The issue brief also discusses the relevant policy considerations.

To read the brief and learn more about the Nursing Home Quality Start Ratings — click here. You may also download the brief (PDF format), by clicking here.

You May Also Like…

The Beginners Guide to Setting Up an Insurance Blog

The Beginners Guide to Setting Up an Insurance Blog

Creating content that shows you are an active community member can help you become a trusted resource and local thought leader. Although starting a blog might feel a bit intimidating, we have simplified the process for you into a few simple steps.

read more